HEATED DEBATE CORNER / THE CLASSICS [Rogue Trader - Mark the Photographer - WARNING SCAMMER]
Page: 1 2 3 ... 8 »
Author Post
Paul Griffiths
Calsoft
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
07789584587
Location:
Bristol
Posts:
594
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 16:37

At SpiderGroup we're very easy going, and now it appears a little naive. We're owed a bit of money by a client who 3 months ago appeared to be a decent, honest person. We've now discovered him to be a lying, deceitful and dishonest person (he doesn't even deserve to be labeled a businessman).

We feel rather silly, a simple google search (thanks Brad) of his name revealed a very dark and shady past including bankruptcy and deception. Something that had we been aware of 3 months ago, would have made us think again before giving the guy anything without payment upfront.

We're not alone either - I'm aware of at least one other 4Networker owed money by this man, and I'll eat my shoe if there aren't more.

Normally I'm not one for public humiliation, however in the current climate this kind of behaviour could cripple a small business, and I'd hate for that to happen without me doing my best to warn people.

Who is he? - Do you know him?

Mark Stothard (aka 'Mark The Photographer') & his wife
Sarah Masters

www.markthephotographer.com

Press (Click to view):

'Association Suspends Rogue Photographer'

'Fraud Squad Police sent to Minehead'


View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
David Hassell
dlh Marketing
Member Since:
11th Jun 2008
Telephone:
07790 012893
Location:
Sutton Coldfi...
Posts:
490
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 19:20

Thanks Paul. As you say many of us here are the postion where any debt can have very serious implications so this informmation is very useful particularly when backed up.

Marketing, communications & collateral management.

David 07790 012893

david@dlhmarketing.co.uk

www.dlhmarketing.co.uk

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Brad Burton
4Networking
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
0845 123 4444
Location:
Taunton
Posts:
46588
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 19:46

Just to clarify this bloke has never been a 4Networker or attended an event.

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Gill Bray
Business Hat
Member Since:
13th Nov 2007
Telephone:
01460 248450
Location:
South Pethert...
Posts:
2814
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 20:45

That's interesting! I've just started getting daily emails from this bod in the last week!

Thanks for letting us know. I would only use Mike Palmer anyway, so was in no danger, even though he turns out to be a local.

 

 


When you have confidence, you can have a lot of fun. And when you have fun, you can do a lot of amazing things. Joe Namath

01460 248450 07725 806010 gillbray@businesshat.co.uk

www.businesshat.co.uk www.budget-pack.com www.legal-mentors.com

THINK BIG

 

 

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Liz Fox
Funky Fresh
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
08450 181 062
Location:
Warrington
Posts:
10593
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 20:48

Actually, yes Gill, I've been getting his e-mails too! Of course, I ignore and delete them as it's completely irrelevant and nor did I opt in for it.... ahh well xxx

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Gill Bray
Business Hat
Member Since:
13th Nov 2007
Telephone:
01460 248450
Location:
South Pethert...
Posts:
2814
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 21:52

Lucky escape!

Love the pic, Liz, by the way! What is that gorgeous pooch's name?

/sorry, back on topic

 

 


When you have confidence, you can have a lot of fun. And when you have fun, you can do a lot of amazing things. Joe Namath

01460 248450 07725 806010 gillbray@businesshat.co.uk

www.businesshat.co.uk www.budget-pack.com www.legal-mentors.com

THINK BIG

 

 

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Steve Gullidge
Deal Deal Deal
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
02392 347673
Location:
Portsmouth
Posts:
2044
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 23:48

just googled, he is not on my website!!

he is on hotfrog, i believe someone on 4n is from hotfrog are they not??

I got an email last week, its been filed in space somewhere, so lucky me!!

A case of spamming members i feel?? how did he have the time to go through our profiles?

Possibly the worst signature in 4N history, but you can't knock the deals! (unless you missed them!)

Deal Deal Deal Its all about the serious saver in you!

Online Shopping Discount Codes |  Free Stuff | Discounts/Offers | Deals Business To Business | New Barbara Hulanicki Collection 

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Brad Burton
4Networking
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
0845 123 4444
Location:
Taunton
Posts:
46588
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 23:50

really. Forward on a copy of the email to me please.

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Stefan Thomas
No Red Braces
Member Since:
19th Oct 2007
Telephone:
01993 768292
Location:
BAMPTON
Posts:
15015
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 - 23:52

Yeah, I just started getting E-mails from him, no idea who the guy is.

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
. .
.
Member Since:
8th Jul 2008
Telephone:
.
Location:
.
Posts:
3311
Posted: 17th Jul 2008 - 00:16

I too received them...

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
HD 3D
HD-3D
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
0845 111 2222
Location:
TAUNTON
Posts:
5708
Posted: 17th Jul 2008 - 00:26

i haven't i wonder why

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Lee Rickler
Point and Stare
Member Since:
3rd Mar 2008
Telephone:
020 7193 6109
Location:
London
Posts:
12014
Posted: 17th Jul 2008 - 00:27

I haven't received any ...

London based WordPress specialist - Online Development Agency - Point and Stare
Online Development Agency | WordPress specialists

>12,000 posts, >40 testimonials, many clients from 4N
call now - 020 7193 6109
and I'll show you how to maximise your online presence
Point and Stare on Twitter Email Point and Stare Point and Stare - LinkedIn 

 
 
View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Julian Wellings
Expertise on Tap
Member Since:
4th Sep 2007
Telephone:
01242 696728
Location:
Cheltenham
Posts:
3908
Posted: 17th Jul 2008 - 00:53
Quote: [Stefan]

Yeah, I just started getting E-mails from him, no idea who the guy is.

Me too was spammed earlier in the week. He used an email address that I only use in my 4N profile so maybe he scraped my address and others off here in some way.
Is that possible?

New: Check out my updated 4N profile

Expertise on Tap logo
01242 696 728 | expertiseontap.co.uk
Email newsletter provider to 4Networking
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
G+ logo
Showreel video... 
Mike Gordon in panto, Phil Hendy singing + The Real Terry Christmas

 

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Michelle Francis
michelle francis
Member Since:
16th Nov 2007
Telephone:
01646680159
Location:
Pembroke Dock
Posts:
323
Posted: 17th Jul 2008 - 08:11

I got the email last week.....

View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Paul Griffiths
Calsoft
Member Since:
31st Jan 2008
Telephone:
07789584587
Location:
Bristol
Posts:
594
Posted: 17th Jul 2008 - 09:23

There is easily availble software that can harvest email addresses from a website - but it does depend on how the site is built.

We used to be his email service provider but blocked his account before these SPAM emails were sent. Funnily enough I wasn't included in this but I'd appreciate it if someone would forward me the email.

Has nobody else met him?


View Profile Send Message Leave Testimonial Find Posts
Page: 1 2 3 ... 8 »

To reply to this topic please sign in or register.

RSS FeedRSS Feed