Advice for a teen looking for a career in Film animation?

Tuesday 10th July 2018 - 09:35
Sharon Banham
Essential Wellness with Mrs B

Telephone :

Testimonials : 0

That looks great thank you 😊, she’s definitely got lots to sink her teeth into over the summer x

Tuesday 10th July 2018 - 06:30
Sharon Stiles
Sharon Stiles Hypnotherapy

Telephone :

There's a free online animation course here to give her some ideas https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/explore-animation
Friday 6th July 2018 - 04:24
Sharon Banham

Telephone :

Brilliant advice thank you 😊 she’s 13 and only recently decided this is what she wants to do so a complete novice! Will look at adobe for a start / thanks again 

Thursday 5th July 2018 - 04:29
Luke Magnay
Clout Media

Hi Sharon,

I'm not an animator but if she's looking to get into the media industry she'll need to have a showreel ready for when a prospective client inevitably asks "What have you done previously?". She can host her videos on both Youtube and Vimeo. I'd advise NOT monetising her videos on YT because ads are annoying.

To that end, she just needs to get creating. Animations about anything, something. Perhaps comical stuff as well as more serious things to show she can address different moods.

Software/app wise I'd be inclined to suggest/recommend she goes with Adobe's Animate as they're Industry Standard so would look good on her CV if she's versed in this. I'm sure there are others and some free ones out there but couldnt suggest on any of them. Details at https://www.adobe.com/uk/products/animate.html#hero-featured-video . Yes its a monthly fee but see if she can blag some sort of student discount perhaps as they do offer student deals too. Ensure she keeps good expenses on ANYTHING she buys for her business (if shes going to be freelancer) as that helps come tax return time.